Nevada Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors

INFORMATION ON PROBLEM GAMBLING COUNSELORS

Licensure or Certification is Mandatory in the State of Nevada; Exceptions: If you are a Licensed Clinical Social Worker; Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist; Licensed Psychologist; Physician or Nurse who is licensed pursuant to that Nevada Boards regulations and approval.

Agata Gawronski, Executive Director 4600 Kietzke Lane, B-115 Reno, NV 89502

Phone: 775-684-0562/0563

Fax: 775-684-0564

e-mail: agawronski@adgc.nv.gov

NRS 641C.250 License or certificate is revocable privilege; holder acquires no vested right. A license or certificate issued pursuant to the provisions of this chapter is a privilege that may be revoked in accordance with the disciplinary procedures set forth in this chapter and in regulations adopted by the board pursuant thereto, and no holder of such a license or certificate acquires thereby any vested right.

General requirements for certification/registration:

- ♦ No abuse of alcohol or controlled substances or problems with gambling for a period of 2 years
- ♦ before submitting application
- If you are on parole or probation the Board will not consider your application for a period of two-years after the completion
- All individuals certified must observe "Ethical Standards and Requirements"
- ♦ College graduation from an accredited college or university listed in Accredited Institutions of Post secondary Education.
- Completed application.
- Finger print cards and a money order payable to the General Services Division for \$36.75 or LiveScan through an approved fingerprinting agency.
- Is not less than 21 years of age.
- ♦ Is a citizen of the United States or is lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States —proof of citizenship or proof that an applicant is able to work in the United States
- Application must include social security number, resume, copy of birth certificate, driver's license or passport and copy of the completion of a high school education
- Must provide the Board with statement regarding child support.

Please note: You will be required to provide the Board with any and all information concerning any arrests, convictions, indictments, suspensions or revocations. If you have any convictions, arrests or etc. you **cannot** do substance abuse or problem gambling counseling until approved by the Board.

An individual on parole or probation will not be considered for certification or licensure until such time as they have finished and have been off parole or probation for a minimum of two-years. The Board or staff has the authority to suspend any applicant upon documentation that an applicant has falsified any information on their application.

Certified Problem Gambling Counselor

- ♦ Bachelors, Masters or Doctoral degree in an approved social science field
- 2000 hours employment under clinical supervision in problem gambling counseling or see allowances listed before.
- Proof of the completion of 60 hours of training specific to problem gambling approved by the Board
- Submittal of fees of \$310.00

- An individual must pass the examinations required by the board with an average score of at least 70%
- Presents himself when scheduled for an interview at a meeting of the Board
- Written exam covers: Basic Knowledge of Problem and pathological Gambling.

Certified Problem Gambling Counselor Intern:

A supervisor must be established prior to applying for internship as all fees are non-refundable.

- Must be 21, a citizen of the United States or is lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States.
- ♦ Requires you have a minimum of 60 credits towards your degree in an approved social science field,
- 30 hours of training specific to problem gambling approved by the Board.
- 6 hours of instruction related to confidentiality/HIPAA and 6 hours of instruction related to ethics, approved by the Board submitted with completed application.
- Supervision Agreement showing onsite supervisor.
- ♦ Complete Application.
- Finger print cards and a money order payable to the General Services Division for \$36.75 or LiveScan through an approved fingerprinting agency.
- ♦ Fees of \$210.00

Allowance for Licensure by Other Nevada State Boards for Problem Gambling Counselors:

- ♦ Licensed as a clinical social worker pursuant to chapter 641 B of the NRS;
- Licensed as a nurse pursuant of chapter 632 of NRS and has received a master's degree or a doctoral degree
- Licensed as a marriage and family therapist pursuant to chapter 641A of the NRS;
- ♦ A psychologist pursuant to chapter 641 of the NRS
- ♦ A licensed alcohol and drug abuse counselor pursuant to this chapter 641C
- And has completed 1,000 hours of supervised counseling of problem gamblers approved by the Board and has completed not less than 60 hours of training specific to problem gambling approved by the Board.

Problem Gambling Supervisor's Certification:

Requirements: Must be licensed as a Certified Problem Gambling Counselor for a minimum of two years.

- Completion of Clinical Supervision Training for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors, (approved by the Board), two day in-person training, Webinars part 1&2, 14 hour online Clinical Foundations course for supervisors.
- Submittal of an application approved by the Board. The application is available on the Board's website.
- ♦ Fee of \$60.00 made out to the Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors.

The certificate is valid for 2-years

Provisional Certificate:

For those individuals that qualify for the written examination a provisional certificate is available, the fee is \$125.00. The provisional certificate allows an individual the opportunity to provide alcohol and drug abuse-or problem gambling counseling services while awaiting the results of the examinations. The provisional certificate is valid for a period of six months and is not renewal.

In order to qualify for a provisional certificate a complete application must be submitted and approved by the Board.

Recertification/Licensure requirements:

- Problem Gambling Certification is valid for 2 years.
- ♦ Fee for re-certification is \$250.00. Late fee is \$75.00
- Proof of completion of 3 hours of training in confidentiality/HIPAA and 3 hours of training in ethics –
 must submit proof of attendance to the Board when renewing. List of 34 additional required CEU's.
- Fingerprints are required every four years.

Scope of Practice for a Problem Gambling Certification: Certified Gambling Counselor may:

- Engage in the practice of counseling problem gamblers;
- Assess and evaluate a person as a problem gambler; and
- If approved by the Board, supervise certified problem gambling interns

Certified Gambling Counselor Intern may:

- Engage in the practice of counseling problem gamblers;
- Assess and evaluate a person as a problem gambler